Hype around hygge

In the spirit of trying to live life to the full and find the calm in even the most loud unsettled places on earth I have decided I’m going to start really focusing on hygge and the beautiful lifestyle and ways.  

I’m currently sat in a children’s play centre and after having a little play with rose ive sat down to find my inner calm amongst the children’s screams! 

For those of you thinking what the mother F is hygge, well to sum up:

hygge means creating a nice, warm atmosphere and enjoying the good things in life with good people around you. 

Gorgeous flickering candlelight is hygge. Friends and family – that’s hygge too. 

And not to forget the eating and drinking – preferably sitting around the table putting the world to rights and just being

Danes are often considered the happiest people in the world and I wonder if it does in fact anything to do with hygge? 

The mentality of ‘hygge’ means enjoying the good things in life without feeling guilty, that means food for me…. My fave cakes or a whole packet of biscuits. NOM! who doesn’t want to indulge and feel good about it! 

Scandinavians firmly believe that a treat once a week is enough . It’s ingrained in Scandinavians from childhood that you treat yourself on Saturdays, and then for the rest of the week, excess is off the table. This seems reasonable to me! (now someone pass me a chocolate eclair). 

So all this info is just a little on what I know about hygge at the moment but I have just purchased the little book of hygge so I can really start to practice what seems to be a beautiful lifestyle. 

Does anyone else love to live like the Danes? 

XOXO 

Posted by

Im a mum, a Nursing student, I love makeup, Wine, Chocolate, Cooking, Singing really loud, bubble baths and moaning.

2 thoughts on “Hype around hygge

Leave a Reply

