My Easy Peasy Decadent Crème Egg Cupcakes

wp-1490021125922.jpg

So easter is fast approaching and one of my absolute favourite things to eat at this time of year is a good old Crème egg. My thighs don’t thank me for it but a girls got to do what a girls go to do. If you know what I mean? 

If you fancy trying one of these delicious treats here is what you will need.

  • 110g/4oz caster sugar
  • 2 free-range eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extractwp-1490021131409.jpg
  • 110g/4oz self-raising flour
  • 1-2 tbsp milk

 

For the buttercream icing

  • 140g/5oz butter, softened
  • 280g/10oz icing sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp milk
  • Crème egg minis
  • maple syrup
  • chocolate any kind I used Cadbury dairy milk

(For the buttercream add the icing sugar milk and butter to a bowl and mix until it becomes a thick consistency, its that easy).

My method is easy –

  • Preheat your oven to 180 degrees (Fan assisted) do this whilst your faffing around measuring things.
  • Put your mini crème eggs in the freezer.
  • I put all my ingredients in a bowl and mix mix mix, I know people say separate this first and whisk that but my cakes have always turned out beautifully doing it my own way!.
  • Once the batter is prepared separate into your cake cases, I used 12 and I had no cake batter left over after .
  • Put into the oven for around 15 – 20 minutes until golden.
  • Let them cool on a wire rack.
  • Whilst they are cooling take the crème eggs out of the freezer and cut in half.
  • Melt some chocolate.
  • I then piped my buttercream onto my cakes, followed by half a mini crème egg a drizzle of chocolate and a drizzle of maple syrup.
  • Then Eat, oh yeah and enjoy!

Your welcome x x x

Posted by

Im a mum, a Nursing student, I love makeup, Wine, Chocolate, Cooking, Singing really loud, bubble baths and moaning.

17 thoughts on “My Easy Peasy Decadent Crème Egg Cupcakes

  1. Oh my God! Those look ah-maaazing! I’ve got a lot of the ingredients at home already which makes me EVEN more excited. The only thing is that I don’t think they sell the creme eggs here, but I’m sure that with Easter around the corner I can find a suitable replacement.

    Would you by any chance be interested in sharing your recipe with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats

Leave a Reply

