The Expected Expectations of life

via Daily Prompt: Expectation
Expectation

We arrive in this world unable to talk, walk or able to do anything for ourselves although we were all expected to arrive.

We are expected to go to school, follow onto high school and then college and university.

We are expected to spend between 18-21 years in education.

We are expected to find a job as soon as we graduate.

We are expected to find the loves of our life, get married, buy a house and have children.

We are expected to stay together forever, until death us do part.

Is it that expectation in how our lives are lived is completely out of our control?

For me, I did go to college but decided not to go to university. I went onto buy a house at 18 get married at 18 and divorced by 20. My mother of course expected me to get married when I was older and have children and settle down with the love of my life.

I went against the grain and did what I wanted to do, and although it took me until I was 25 to realise that I wanted to go back to university to study nursing after having my daughter I am glad I didn’t do what my mother expected me to do. I learnt from my first marriage that I would never let a man treat me bad again, and I found my now husband to be..

I had a child…. I followed my dream career path.

Sometimes doing the opposite of what is expected really is the right thing to do.

I know because I’m proof.

Xoxo

p.s Have you lived  by any rigid expectations?

Posted by

Im a mum, a Nursing student, I love makeup, Wine, Chocolate, Cooking, Singing really loud, bubble baths and moaning.

2 thoughts on “The Expected Expectations of life

  1. Glad things are working out great for you! Sometimes I feel that we try so hard to live the said “right” way of life that we push ourselves to achieve it but truly are we happy when we fight to get what is expected of us? For most people I would not think so as you are forcing yourself to live up to something you have not really determined for yourself. I use to do the opposite and still to this day I do a bit but as I have gotten older I found myself settling into adapting this “right” way of life which at first I thought was great, I was making it to what some people wait so long to get but! I have now noticed I have lost myself a bit along this journey of achieving the “right” way of life.

Leave a Reply

