LIVE FOR TODAY

I sit here at the table drinking tea, I’m sat here thinking about all of the patients I will see today.  Some of them will be leaving shortly to enjoy their last days with their loved ones.  Others do not have loved ones to share their last days with.

I spend as much time as I can with each patient,  bathing them, feeding them,  brushing their hair and making them feel like the person they remember that they once were.

I will hug patients families as they say their last goodbyes and watch their children’s lives be destroyed all because of a horrible disease that does not rule out anyone as a victim.  I will be the only person sitting there to those who are alone,  this is such a Privilege and something I will remember forever.

I will sit with the doctor whilst they tell patients they don’t have much time left, and listen to them reminisce with her husbands and wives their life long companions.

I listen to how scared the partners are and the fear they have of being alone,  there’s nothing much I can do but listen and support them.  I empathise with them, but there’s not much else I can do.

I’ll look after your mum, dad, Nan, grandad, aunt, uncle, brother, sister, friend,  cousin,  lover, husband, wife and I will not complain that I haven’t had a drink or anything to eat, I won’t moan that I can’t wait to get home.  I’ll be sad at the end of the day when I have to leave not knowing if the next day you’ll be there lying in your bed space with a smile for me in the morning.

So whilst your reading this before you go to work take a moment to think about the day ahead,  don’t moan because you have to go to work – at least you can get up and go to work. Don’t moan about undercooked or overcooked food, don’t get wound up with your boss, don’t argue with your friends and your family… Life changes in the blink of an eye.

Remember that someone somewhere is going through hell fighting for survival your problems are probably trivial.  Make today and tomorrow count,  smile!

Enjoy your day today.  My day will be spent consoling families and heartbroken children. Today I learn what being privileged is all over again.

Xoxo

Posted by

Im a mum, a Nursing student, I love makeup, Wine, Chocolate, Cooking, Singing really loud, bubble baths and moaning.

8 thoughts on “LIVE FOR TODAY

  1. Wow, this made me shed a tear. Having been one of the relatives saying their goodbyes recently, this struck such a chord with me and, I thank you from the bottom of my heart, and on behalf of many, for your compassion and resilience xxx

    1. Wow, thank you for such a beautiful comment. My job is my world (and my family). This placement has been my nemesis as such because my dad died there three years ago at Christmas, I did not choose this hospice but it was allocated at random to me. This hospice was my reason for going into nursing so the fact I have ended up there I see as absolute fate and it really is such a privilege to be with these people in their final hours. I’m so sorry for your loss and I hope you find comfort in knowing that there are people out there who will have cared for your family member with compassion and dignity x x x

      1. That is amazing! I am very spiritual in my approach to life, and I 100% think you were absolutely meant to be in that Hospice, it was meant to be, and it WILL only bring you good. I feel your passion for your work in your words, and its so special xx. Thank you, you have made me cry again, but also feel a warmth in my heart xxx

  2. I enjoyed reading this really puts fhings in perspective which I seem to lose quite a bit. I actually just came in from trying to do somethings out and about but! Here in Toronto it is snowing like crazy, my car got stuck about 3 times and I was not able to do what I set out to do originally. Now I came home pretty annoyed with the hassle I just went through but reading this just made me think and laugh once again at silly things that I see as the end of the world as crazy as that sounds.

    Thanks for sharing this all my grumpiness has faded

    1. Thank u for such a lovely comment. It really does put things into perspective doesn’t it. Yeah our days may suck sometimes and things may not be how we want them to but we have our health and that is priceless x x x take care in that snow! England is just miserable at the moment cold and wet x

Leave a Reply

