Anxiety and me 

Anxiety,  that seven letter word that most of us have felt in our lifetime at least once.
The palpitations,  sweaty palms,  feeling. Sick, unable to speak feeling like you can’t breathe these are all tell tale signs that a panic attack is creeping up.

Recognising anxiety really is difficult and is sometimes brushed off as nerves or just ignored completely until BANG your in full blown panic mode and feel like your having a nervous breakdown.  I know this because I have been there many of times. As someone who has struggled since giving birth five years ago and spiralling into post natal depression followed by terrible anxiety I am not ashamed to admit that I have tried every coping method in the book but I was so far gone at first that medicine was the only help for me.

I hate how much stigma is attached to anti depressants I really do…..

And as I say this is an Illness something out of your control (at first)  and if you were asthmatic and needed an inhaler would you take it?….. Exactly…..Depression and anxiety is an illness but realising.

What causes your anxiety can be controlled and noticing your triggers is key which means as soon as you feel am anxious moment approaching focus on something to take your mind off it.

Here are a few of mine:

  1. Join a gym or just take part in any activity that will require you to bounce around like you’ve had wayyyyy too much sugar, it makes you feel happy by releasing your happy hormone serotonin.  And you can do this for free.
  2. Bake cook do something you enjoy something you need to really focus on. I enjoy baking when I feel anxious I find it so therapeutic. I also have a journal that I write in it keeps me focused and feeling positive.
  3. Whip out your paint brush!  Let’s face it there’s always a room that needs tarting up and if your anything like me the feeling after you have decorated or made any home improvement is the best feeling ever!
  4. Read a book, not just any old book but something you always go back too something you know makes you feel good and happy and in control!  Maybe it’s time to whip out a book on mindfulness?
  5. Go and visit someone,  if you feel panicky and worried get out of the house if your alone and run over to your friends for a coffee and a natter it really is true a problem shared is a problem halved.

Failing all of the above crack open a bottle of wine and eat your weight in chocolate whilst singing “all by myself” and wearing huge knickers like Bridget Jones feeling sorry for yourself then cry,  sleep and in the morning the only thing you will have on your mind is how much your head hurts from the hangover.

#neverdrinkingagain

On a more serious note if you are suffering don’t suffer in silence there’s so much help out there and trust me it works! I’m living proof.

Until next time

Xoxo

Posted by

Im a mum, a Nursing student, I love makeup, Wine, Chocolate, Cooking, Singing really loud, bubble baths and moaning.

2 thoughts on “Anxiety and me 

Leave a Reply

